FAQs about BIAN

Who is BIAN?

The Banking Industry Architecture Network (BIAN) was founded on 29th April 2008 and is an independent, member-owned, not-for-profit organization which, in collaboration with industry participants, aims to define and set the de facto IT standards for banking interoperability services.

In this unique community, BIAN members – namely financial institutions, software vendors and system integrators – work together to create common IT standards for the banking industry.

What does BIAN do?

BIAN’s goal is to define SOA and semantic definitions for IT services in the banking industry. The BIAN community focuses on creating a standard semantic banking services landscape, while ensuring consistent service definitions, levels of detail and boundaries. This will help banks to achieve a reduction of integration costs and use the advantages of a service-oriented architecture.

Who is a BIAN Member?

BIAN members are Banks, software vendors and service providers of the financial and banking industry. A list of current BIAN Members is here.

Why is BIAN different?

By gathering a community of industry-leading players and global banks that openly share domain and technical expertise to SOA principles and methodologies, the BIAN initiative represents a real opportunity for banks to accelerate the replacement of inflexible legacy environments, create IT and business agility, while reducing integration costs without simply slashing costs.

Integration costs are often triple the purchase costs of the original software and in most organizations such costs can make or break the business case in the deployment of new functionality or purchased packages. By working with BIAN, banks are leveraging worldwide best practices.

How is BIAN funded?

BIAN receives funds only from its members. BIAN members pay an annual membership fee to the organization. BIAN has one type of membership category but honors size and type of member via adjusted fees.